Minnesota Pork Board elects new board members, officers during 2019 Annual Meeting

2019 Executive Board
Front, left to right, Meg Freking, JoDee Haala, Myrna Welter, Reuben Bode, Angie Toothaker, and Wanda Patsche. Back, left to right, Brian Johnson, Galen Johnson, Dan Helvig, Bred Hennen, Brian Johnson, and Chris Compart.

Johnson, Toothaker elected to Pork Board, Freking and Johnson re-elected

Four Minnesota pig farmers were elected to serve on the Minnesota Pork Board Executive Board at the Minnesota Pork Board’s annual meeting at the Hilton Minneapolis Hotel on Monday, February 4. A slate of six candidates ran for the four open positions.

These individuals will serve on the executive board for a three-year term. They will begin their time on the board this upcoming March after the 2019 Pork Industry Forum. They join eight other executive board members.

Members of the Executive Board represent the 3,000 Minnesota pig farming families and oversee the investment of checkoff dollars in the areas of research, education, and promotion.

Newly-elected members include Meg Freking, Jackson; Brian Johnson, Maple Grove; Galen Johnson, Dodge Center, and Angie Toothaker, Granada.

Other board members include  Reuben Bode, Courtland; President JoDee Haala, Sleepy Eye; Secretary Myrna Welter, Stewartville; Chris Compart, Nicollet; Dan Helvig, Truman; Vice-President, Brad Hennen, Ghent; Wanda Patsche, Welcome; and Brian Schwartz, Sleepy Eye. In addition, Minnesota representative serving on the National Pork Board includes Pat FitzSimmons of Dassel.