Four Executive Board Members Elected to Minnesota Pork Board

Four Executive Board Members Elected to Minnesota Pork Board

MANKATO, Minn. – Four individuals were elected to serve on the Minnesota Pork Board Board of Directors at the Minnesota Pork Board’s annual meeting at the Mayo Clinic Health System Event Center in Mankato. A slate of nominees was presented to all in attendance.

These individuals will serve on the executive board for a three-year term. They will begin their time on the board this upcoming March and join the remaining eight board members still finishing their three-year terms.

Members of the Board of Directors represent the 3,000 Minnesota pig farming families and gather quarterly to discuss efforts revolving around the research, education, and promotion of pork and the families who raise it.

Newly-elected members include Mike Boerboom, Marshall; Meg Freking, Jackson; Mary Langhorst, Lafayette; and Brian Johnson, Walnut Grove.

Other board members include Chris Compart, Nicollet; President Brad Hennen, Ghent; Roger Punt, Prinsburg; Abbie Redalen, Chatfield; Amber Portner, Sleepy Eye; Brian Schwartz, Sleepy Eye; Vice President Todd Selvik, Waseca; and Secretary Myrna Welter, Stewartville. In addition, Minnesota representative serving on the National Pork Board includes Dale Stevermer of Easton.


Editor’s Note: Photos available upon request to

The Minnesota Pork Board administers programs relating to pork promotion, consumer and producer education and swine research on behalf of the 3,200 Minnesota pork producing families. These activities are funded through the Pork Checkoff. The MPB and the National Pork Board receive USDA oversight.