Four Executive Board Members Elected to Minnesota Pork Board

Four Executive Board Members Elected to Minnesota Pork Board

MANKATO, Minn. – Four individuals were elected to serve on the Minnesota Pork Board Executive Board at the Minnesota Pork Board’s virtual annual meeting. A slate of nominees was presented to all in attendance.

Each individual will serve on the Executive Board for a three-year term. Their official start date will occur in March during the National Pork Board Forum, where they will join the other eight executive board members still carrying out their terms.

Members of the Executive Board represent the 3,000 Minnesota pig farming families and gather bi-annually to discuss efforts revolving around the research, education, and promotion of pork and the families who raise it.

Newly-elected members include Christ Compart, Nicollet; Amber Portner, New Ulm; Abbie Redalen, Lanesboro; and Brian Schwartz, Sleepy Eye.

Other board members include Meg Freking, Jackson; Brad Hennen, Ghent; Brian Johnson, Maple Grove; Galen Johnson, Dodge Center; Roger Punt, Prinsburg; Todd Selvik, Waseca; Angie Toothaker, Granada; and Myrna Welter, Stewartville. In addition, the Minnesota representative serving on the National Pork Board includes Pat FitzSimmons of Dassel.


Editor’s Note: Individual headshots available upon request to

The Minnesota Pork Board administers programs relating to pork promotion, consumer and producer education and swine research on behalf of the 3,200 Minnesota pork producing families. These activities are funded through the Pork Checkoff. The MPB and the National Pork Board receive USDA oversight.